home->gluten free diet
Gluten free diet is not very difficult, as long as you can find out those hidden gluten containing foods.You either cook from scratch or choose GF(gluten free food).
What is GF diet?
Gluten is a protein found in some grains such as wheat, barley, rye, etc. If you don't eat any gluten containing foods, then you are having gluten free diet.
Why go for GF diet?
Basically, three types of people cannot eat gluten containing foods. When they eat gluten containing food, they have symptoms such as bloating, diarrhea, abdomen pain, etc.. Or even malnutrition, weight loss, etc.
a. Celiac disease, the most serious type, which is an immune system disorder problem.
b. Wheat allergy, also an immune reaction, most of which is caused by other protein in wheat.
c. Gluten intolerance, or gluten sensitivity.
Besides the above three groups of people, some other people choose gluten free diet by the following reasons.
a. Some clinics claim that gluten free diet helps to improve autism. So many parents prepare gluten-free foods for their kids who are with autism.
b. Some people think that gluten free diet can help them lose weight.
c. By eating gluten free foods, some people think that they can eat many whole grain foods. Most processed foods contain wheat.
What foods contain gluten?
The following grains contain gluten. You have to avoid any product containing these ingredients when reading labels.
Wheat (durum, semolina, kamut, spelt)
Remember that wheat free is not gluten free. It may contain rye, barley, oat, etc.
You have to say good-by to most cereal food and their products. These include all kinds of bread, muffins, cookies, pasta and pizza. (But don't be so desperate. There is alternatives).
The following foods also contain gluten.
Broth, coating mixes, imitation bacon, imitation seafood, marinades, processed meats, sauces, self-basting poultry, soup bases, stuffings, thickeners, etc.
The following ingredients are easy to confuse you. Sometimes they contain gluten while sometimes they are gluten free foods. Avoid them unless they are marked by GF(gluten free) or you have a way to verify them.
Brown rice syrup, caramel color, flour, cereal products, vegetable protein, textured vegetable protein, malt or malt flavoring, malt vinegar, modified food starch, flavorings in meat products, soy sauce, vegetable gum.
What grains are gluten free?
What can i eat on a gluten free diet?
You may notice that most gluten containing foods are processed food products. Most unprocessed foods are gluten free diet foods, which are called nature gluten free foods. The followings are examples for you:
Staples: Rice, corn, soy, potato, quinoa, millet, etc..
Vegetables: All unprocessed fresh vegetables are gluten free, which include what you usually eat on the table such as tomato, broccoli, bell pepper, cabbage, etc.
Fruits: All unprocessed raw fresh fruits are gluten free such as apples, pears, oranges, bananas, strawberries, etc..
Meat and fish: All unprocessed raw meat and fish are gluten free such as chicken breast, beef, pork, scallops, shrimp, etc..
Eggs and milk: Raw eggs, pure milk. Please note that some gluten intolerant people are also allergic to milk. Then you can go for soy milk.
If you are good at cooking from scratch, it's very easy to cook a gluten free breakfast, a gluten free lunch, or a gluten free dinner.
If you used to buy processed foods, or busy, or lazy, you can buy gluten free food products. The labels are marked with "GF"(gluten free), or "GFCF"(gluten free and casein free).
Do you have a great story about this? Share it!